Sudan declares state of emergency in areas bordering the eastern neighbors

Abbay Media News
Yassin Ibrahim

The sudanese government declared state of emergency on Saturday 12/30/17 in two of its states bordering the eastern neighbors. The States of Gedaref and Kassala that border Ethiopia and Eritrea to the east will stay under the State of Emergency for 6 months per the order from the president of Sudan, Omar Al Bashir. According to the Sudanese constitution the parliament has two weeks to approve the president’s decree.

The State of Emergency has already been declared in seven sudanese states and the latest declaration brings the total to nine states. According to Reuters’ sources, the state of Emergency may be used to disarm the population living in conflict ridden border territories.

The previous seven states under State of Emergency include five of the darfur region states, the Blue Nile and South Kordofan.

This post originally appeared on Click here to read more....

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.